Google spreadsheets as feed stores

There’s nothing new about this idea, but I wanted to be able to point people to a set-by-step guide to using a Google spreadsheet to store feed URLs and associated data for a pipe. I do, however, assume that you have a Google account and know how to generally use Google spreadsheets.

So let’s start with a spreadsheet that I’ve already set up.

Column A holds the feed URL, column B holds a prefix I want to use on each item title and column C holds the number of items I want to retrieve from each feed. Each column has a title.

Having set the data up I need to share the spreadsheet, as it’s the sharing that will enable me to use a URL for this spreadsheet in Pipes.

The Share menu is in the top right-hand section of the spreadsheet page, and the option I want is "Publish as a web page", which gives a new window. In the top half of the window there are sheet options.

I have a choice between sharing all sheets or just sheet 1, and between having the link to the sheet automatically reflect changes or not. I chose the options you can see above. The next step is click on "Start publishing". This makes available in the bottom half of this window various link options.

From among the various format options available, Web Page, Atom, RSS etc., I’ve chosen the CSV option, which will enable me to use the Fetch CSV module in Pipes. I could have chosen the RSS or Atom options, in which case I would have used a Fetch Feed module. And finally I have the URL I need to use in the CSV module. Here’s the link to the spreadsheet itself. In order for you to be able to follow that link I had to select the "Get the link to share" option as seen in the Share menu above, and then select the option to allow anyone who had the link to view the sheet.

In Pipes I’ll need to use 2 pipes, a main pipe and a sub-pipe. The sub-pipe that will do most of the work.

The main pipe

The main pipe consists of a Fetch CSV module, a sub-pipe in a Loop and the Pipe Output module. The only thing I’ve done with the Fetch CSV is to add the URL.

And the output from that module looks like:

The column names in the spreadsheet become element names in the Fetch CSV output. Because of that don’t use column names in the spreadsheet that contain spaces or ‘odd’ characters such as percent signs. Pipes won’t like it and you won’t be able to reference the element in the rest of the pipe. So what would the output have looked like if the RSS or Atom feeds for the spreadsheet? Here’s the RSS output.

The title element comes from the first column in the spreadsheet and subsequent columns are combined into the description element.

In the Loop and sub-pipe module I can select the relevant elements to be passed to the sub-pipe.

In order to get the sub-pipe module into the Loop I dragged it from the "My pipes" section of the sidebar into a Loop that was already on the canvas.

The sub-pipe

Here I have a URL Input providing the feed URL for a Fetch Feed module, a Text Input and a String Regex module to provide the prefix value created in a Regex module, and a Number Input providing the value for a Truncate module.

So there it is. I did have a rather wordy section about the advantages of this approach, but I’m going to leave that for a later date.

Tags:

4 Responses to “Google spreadsheets as feed stores”

  1. Linkdump for 12. Dezember 2009 | synapsenschnappsen Says:

    […] Google spreadsheets as feed stores « The Pickled Piper – Adding information of a csv-file to the item title (Tags: YahooPipes tutorial ) […]

  2. Michael Says:

    First of all, thank you very much for these great blog posts.
    Could you tell, please, is there a way to specify multiple modifiers (for example, g and i) in the “modifiers” field of the URL Builder module?

  3. hapdaniel Says:

    I don’t understand what you mean by a “modifier” field in the URL Builder module.

  4. FireFox31 Says:

    Thanks for this post. I’m new to Pipes and within a few hours, I replicated your model to aggregate many feeds and customize their titles. Good stuff.

Leave a comment